Monday, November 26, 2012

James Christensen "Once Upon a Time"

Today at the library I stumbled onto a Pre-Raphaelite in an unexpected place.  A book came across my desk to fill a hold that intrigued me.  It was about the artist James Christensen, someone whose work I had seen in passing but knew little about.  And as I flipped through the book, I was started to see a familiar face in one of the first images.

There she is, unmistakably, the Lady of Shalott as rendered by Waterhouse, complete with her gold and white checkered arm band and simple silver circlet in her hair.  The idea of her keeping company with this motley group of whimsical characters brought a delighted tickle to my imagination..  The artwork is entitled "Once Upon a Time."

Edited to add:  I was so engrossed in discovering the Lady in this artwork, I totally missed another homage.  Guarding the fair maiden of Shalott is a knight whose visage appears repeatedly in my dear Neddy's art.  Edward Burne-Jones loved to paint this deliciously dark blue-black gothic armor with red sashes.

I just love the idea of a Burne-Jones knight standing guard behind a Waterhouse Lady of Shalott. 

Tuesday, November 20, 2012

Pre-Raphaelite Brotherhood Artist Salon 2012

The Pre-Raphaelite Artist Salon at the Great Dickens Faire has announced their tableaux this year for the next five weekends.  
Date Tableau Artist
Friday, Nov. 23 Circe Waterhouse
Saturday, Nov. 24 The Annunciation Rossetti
Sunday, Nov. 25 Midsummer Moore
Saturday, Dec. 1 Ophelia Waterhouse
Sunday, Dec. 2 Beguiling of Merlin Burne-Jones
Saturday, Dec. 8 St. George Burne-Jones
Sunday, Dec. 9 St. George Burne-Jones
Saturday, Dec. 15 Midsummer Moore
Sunday, Dec. 16 Monna Vanna Rossetti
Saturday, Dec. 22 Circe Waterhouse
Sunday, Dec. 23 Ophelia Waterhouse


Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Les Misérables of Shalott

This new image Vogue ran of the cast from the movie Les Misérables is so very Pre-Raphaelite.

Also, WAG Screen received their 1500 page likes on Facebook, and so have posted the entire film of the Lady of Shalott online to enjoy.


Friday, November 2, 2012

The Bed at Kelmscott - Video

The Tate has a new video for the Victorian Avante-Garde exhibition.  This one is perhaps my favorite, featuring an in-depth look at William Morris' bed from Kelmscott. 

I recommend you watch!

I never knew Jane Morris signed the quilt!

Thursday, November 1, 2012

Bagshaw Pandora

Thanks to Bryony Whistlecraft and her incredible Tumblr, I found the art of Tom Bagshaw.  His work is a fascinating amalgamation of classical, quirky, and cartoony.  I love this image below:

The pose should look familiar.